Making hand sanitizer, Christmas Ornament Dough and Butterflies

I made an easy to make hand sanitizer today. The receipe is from my neighbour, who is very great and had made a sample for me to try before I made the receipe.

Tea Tree Hand Sanitizer

1 cup Aloe Vera Gel

2 teaspoons Rubbing Alcohol

1  1/2 teaspoons glycerin

10 drops tea tree oil

Mix in measuring cup and transfer to pop open container.

You probably have all of the ingredients in your cupboards already.  Enjoy!

Today, I also made Christmas Ornament Dough, another receipe from my neighbour.  A certain little ladybug had so much fun using the dough to create ornaments for Christmas gifts.  He is very excited to give them as gifts.

Christmas Ornament Dough

2 cups Baking Soda

1 cup Cornstarch

1 1/4 cups water

Mix together in saucepan over med heat until consistency of mashed potatoes. Colour using food colouring. Cool before use, keep moist and bake creations at 250 deg F for 15 mins. Decorate with paint and seal with varnish.

We divided up the dough and used food colouring to create a few different colours of dough.  I have discovered that blue food colouring is very vivid. I have no pictures to prove it, but my hands are still a slight blue colour. 🙂

I’ll have to post pictures of the ornaments soon.

Until that time, here is a picture of a butterfly (wish I could remember what type) from the Butterfly Insectarium in Newfoundland.  It is a picture from a camping trip/family visit, we took in 2008.  I love butterflies, so I just had to stop there and see them hatching and fluttering around. Isn’t the colour of this one beautiful.

Butterfly

Another picture I have to share is one that I know Big D loves. A picture of his Dad’s old pickup truck.  I think it is one of my favorites, because of the colour.  I’m sure he has lots of fond memories of camping trips in this truck.

Old Blue

Old Blue Truck

Have a great day!

It's so lovely to hear from you!

