Bread machine bread and Cheese spread

I have been making bread in my Black and Decker bread machine lately. Yum!  The only trouble is that I had no Cheese Wiz.  It is my favorite on homemade bread so I set out to make some at home.  I found a receipe for cheese spread in my favorite cook book, “More-with-less Cookbook” by Doris Janzen Longacre.

Cheese Spread

Combine in top of double boiler:

  • 1 2/3 c. (1can) evaporated milk
  • 1 lb pasteurized process cheese, grated

Heat and stir over hot water until cheese melts.  Remove from heat and add:

  • 2 T. vinegar
  • 1/2 t. dry mustard
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • dash cayenne pepper
  • flavoring (See options)

Stir occasionally as spread cools. Store covered in refriderator. Keeps several weeks.

Options:

Flavor with crumbled bacon or soybean-based bacon substitute, crumbled blue cheese, chopped pimiento, or onion and garlic salt.

After spread cools, form into ball or rolls. Roll in parsley. Serve with crackers or veggies.

Receipe, shared by Dorothy King, Dalton, Ohio

I used my cheese grater for making homemade laundry soap, so I had to cut the cheese up into chunks.  It actually worked, but I’m sure it would speed up the process if the cheese was grated.

Just waiting to be put into jars

The taste of the spread is great :), very cheesy, however, it does not taste like Cheese Wiz. 😦

I guess, i’ll have to experiment with the flavorings to try and get that Cheese Wiz flavor!  Until then, I’ll enjoy my new cheese spread and homemade bread.

It's so lovely to hear from you!

