Honey & Limes

I came across this post Lime and Honey cough syrup.

At http://www.vintagesavoirfaire.com. It sounded so mouth-watering and wonderful I had to try it!

I cut my 3 limes and placed them in a clean mason jar. The smell was amazing, can you imagine freshly cut lime. ♥ Instant summer.

I added enough honey to completely cover the limes and screwed on the lid. After waiting what seemed like a year (only a couple of days) I decided to try a taste. WOW, WOW, WOW! I’m in love with this stuff.

You should absolutely try this recipe. The sweet honey flavor with the lime could make me almost welcome a cold just so I can have a spoonful.

I wonder what this syrup would taste like on homemade ice cream? Yogurt? In tea? There are so many ways to enjoy this little treat. Thank you to Amanda from http://www.vintagesavoirfaire.com for sharing this recipe. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Honey & Limes

    • I was just wondering that myself. And oranges. You should give it a try. Let me know if you do.

      I really like the lime and am starting to wonder about other ways to flavor the honey! 🙂

  1. Your cough syrup is way nicer than mine – I got it from my mother in law and it works but it is AWFUL – 1 tbsp Honey, 1 tbsp Vinegar and dash of cayenne – nasty but it works. Next cold season I will try yours first;-)

  2. I make my with lemon, cinnamon, ginger also cayenne pepper.
    I made to batchs, one with whisky and one without.
    It tastes good. I added to my tea.

It's so lovely to hear from you!

