August 14, 2004- Our beach wedding

When someone says to you “oh, we had a beach wedding”, do you automatically think tropical destination? I used to, that is, until I planned our wedding on one of our favorite beaches in my hometown.

We wanted to get married outdoors, on a beach, so we decided to go local for our location. We wanted a carefree wedding, no churches for us. No photographer, we relied on the photos taken by friends and family and had our reception under the stars in our backyard. It was just how we wanted it (fun and stress-free) and I couldn’t imagine it any other way.

I was backing up my recent photos this evening and came across pictures from our wedding so I thought I would share some.

Here’s a picture of my mother and I. My dress was a Le Chateau find, very low-cost and perfect for a beach wedding. Veil, handmade from some fabric scraps. I gathered flowers from my flower garden for a bouquet. My shoes were from my mother-in-law.

I guess you could say we had a hippie wedding. It was awesome!!!

A picture with my father under the arbor. My husband made it for me for the wedding and it went straight to my garden to serve as a garden arbor once the wedding was over. It is still there. β™₯

A picture with my brother at the beach.

I love the backdrop for this picture! But what you don’t learn from this picture is that it rained (think downpour) right up to about 30 minutes before we had to be at the beach. The waves were so loud, I’m not sure if anyone could actually hear what we were saying during the ceremony. Still worth it. πŸ™‚

If it wasn’t for our friends and family, our beach wedding couldn’t have been so wonderful. Thank-you.

Here’s a picture of us on August 14, 2004.

I love our beach wedding! Love u too Mr. Ladybug. πŸ™‚

Have a wonderful weekend,

Three Ladybugs Play

2 thoughts on “August 14, 2004- Our beach wedding

  1. That was a beautiful wedding! I remember the rain that day, and Jason and I posting signs for directions to the beach. The back drop of the ocean was perfect, and the backyard party afterwards was fun. So glad we could be part of that day with you guys!!

It's so lovely to hear from you!

